1st So.Ge.I. Congress

The 1st Italian Geochemical Society Congress “From theoretical to applied geochemistry” will be held in Genoa from 5 to 8 July 2022. The event will be hosted in the prestigious venue of Palazzo Rosso, which is one of the Rolli di Genova, included in the list of the UNESCO World Heritage sites. The Congress will give the right visibility to our discipline and it will be divided in four sessions: i) Geochemical Thermodynamics; ii) Isotope Geochemistry; iii) Environmental Geochemistry; iv) Fluid Geochemistry in Geothermal and Volcanic Environments.

The event will also be an opportunity to give particular recognition to the extraordinary scientific and academic career of Prof. Giulio Ottonello, who retired on 1 November 2019, with a dedicated session titled “Geochemical thermodynamics: a Tribute to Giulio Ottonello”.

Each session, managed by several conveners, will include a plenarist and an invited speaker. Exception will be made for the Geochemical Thermodynamics session that will include a key-note by Prof. Ottonello followed by several lectures from both Italian and international colleagues with whom Prof. Ottonello has shared his long and distinguished career.

During the Congress, the 2021 So.Ge.I. Awards for the Best PhD Thesis in Applied Geochemistry, Isotope Geochemistry, Geochemistry of Magmatic Processes and Hydrogeochemistry will be presented (call).

Given the persistence of the pandemic phase, the capacity of the hall is that of 108 seats. Access to the Congress will take place in compliance with current anti-contagion regulations. If the requests of partecipation exceed the hall capacity or the epidemiological situation does not allow to hold the meeting safely, it will be possible to attend the congress electronically, according to the indications that will be reported later.

Donato Belmonte (UNIGE), Sergio Calabrese (UNIPA), Paola Iacumin (UNIPR), Mauro Masiol (UNIVE), Michele Paternoster (UNIBAS), Giovannella Pecoraino (INGV), Monia Procesi (INGV), Barbara Stenni (UNIVE), Massimo Tiepolo (UNIMI), Daniela Varrica (UNIPA), Marino Vetuschi Zuccolini (UNIGE)

Donato Belmonte (UNIGE), Stefano Caliro (INGV), Francesco Capecchiacci (UNIFI), Enrico Dinelli (UNIBO), Barbara Nisi (CNR-IGG), Orlando Vaselli (UNIFI), Stefania Venturi (UNIFI), Marino Vetuschi Zuccolini (UNIGE)